- Question: How does Endomondo sync workouts?
- Question: How much data does the Endomondo application use?
- Question: Do I need internet / data network connection to use the Endomondo application?
- Question: Workout is not uploaded to my profile?
Answer: On Android and iPhone we have two-way sync. If you have an active data connection and start tracking your workout, data will be uploaded as you progress during the workout. Your Endomondo friends can then follow you live on your workout in either their app or on the website.
Once you have finished your workout you can write notes to your workout, tag your gear and friends, and add photos. Everything will be sent to our server, so that it’s also available at www.endomondo.com.
If you choose to edit any of the details of the workout later on, the data will automatically be synchronized across all platforms. If you delete a workout on any platform it will be deleted on our server across all platforms and cannot be retrieved.
If you log out, all your workout history from the phone will be erased - you will see the pop up window saying “When you sign out automatic upload is deactivated and all non-saved data will be erased.” Consequently, you should not log out if you don’t have a data connection, since you can’t be sure that your workouts have been uploaded.
Once you log in again, a list of all the workouts on the server will be synced to your phone history on the phone. When you tap any single workout the data will be downloaded so you can review it.
Answer: The actual tracking through the GPS signal is free, but you will incur a minor cost from your mobile operator when using the tracker for online tracking because you transmit data from your mobile phone to the Internet. A typical workout (only tracking) lasting 30 minutes sends about 50 kb data, which should cost around US$ 0.05 or € 0.03 with a typical pay-per-use subscription (per MB). But if you use maps, receive pep talks or use other features which require data in the app, the data traffic will increase.
We recommend that you check the cost with your mobile operator before using Endomondo.
Also, please note that the data cost is significantly higher outside your home country, so it is recommended to turn off data roaming when tracking in foreign countries, and then use Wifi networks to upload your data after the workout.
Answer: You don't need a phone signal/data network connection to track your activities with our Endomondo Sports Tracker app. The app can track using only the satellite signal, so all you need to do is to turn on the GPS/Location service in the phone and make sure the Endomondo app can access the GPS (read more about GPS in our GPS guide). Through the GPS we can track your distance, duration, speed, pace, mile/kilometer splits etc. and show this data in the app. Your data is saved on the phone and will be uploaded the next time you connect to a data network, e.g. Wi-Fi. Just connect to the network and open Endomondo to upload the data.
Please notice that it may take several minutes to get a good GPS signal if you use the app without data connection. We recommend keeping the data connection on to get a faster and better GPS signal, unless you are outside of your home country.
In the Android, iPhone, Blackberry 10 and Windows Phone apps you cannot turn Live Tracking off in the app. You can put the phone in “Flight Mode” to avoid data cost but, there will not be a GPS signal. In the Symbian and BlackBerry app you can turn Automatic Upload/Online Tracking on/off in the Settings menu.
Please note that Live Tracking (upload your data real-time to the website so others can follow you live), Map-access and Pep talks during your workout all require a data connection and thus won’t be available when you’re in flight mode.
Answer: Regardless what phone you have, make sure about these 2 things:
1. Check if you have Data/WiFi Connection ON in the phone settings.
2. Start Endomondo app and check if you are logged in and if the account you are logged in is the same as the account you are viewing on the website. You can check that by going to Settings > Profile > Emails. Your primary account is also the one you should log in to the website with.
Sometimes people accidentally create a new account instead of logging into an existing account. In case you have more than one profile, please read here about how to transfer your workouts between profiles.
The uploading process usually takes just a moment, but if you exit the app right after you stop your workout, it might not be uploaded to the website, or it can be uploaded only partially. The next time you open the app (and have a data connection), the app will try to upload this workout again – wait and keep the app open until it is done so.